Mental Health Waiver

We’re Here To Help!

What Is the Mental Health Waiver?

The MHW is operated by the Department of Mental Health and Addictions Services (DMHAS) and the Department of Social Services (DSS) for Medicaid individuals with serious mental illness who either live in a nursing home or are at risk of institutional placement. The MHW permits Connecticut to provide a comprehensive array of home and community-based services that enable individuals to live safely in the community. Individualized recovery plans are developed with each person, which include rehabilitative or support services, the Community Support Program, Peer Support, Transitional Case Management, Supported Employment, Recovery Assistant, Non-Medical Transportation and specialized medical equipment.

Programs we provide under this waiver:

  • Community Support Program (CSP)
  • Recovery Assistant (RA)
  • Supported Employment (SE)
  • Transitional Case Managment (TCM)
  • Chore Service
  • Brief Episode